3MT at CMU

Join us on Tuesday, April 4 for the Three Minute Thesis Competition Finals. 

What: 3MT @ CMU Championship
When: Tuesday, April 4th 5:00pm – 6:30pm
Where: McConomy Auditorium

PhD students representing a variety of research areas take to the stage to discuss their thesis in plain language for three minutes for a chance to win technology or travel grants. CMU leadership judges the competition and a People's Choice Award goes to the competitor with the most audience votes. New this year: the Alumni Choice Award let's alumni vote via livestream on the CMU Libraries Facebook page. This event is open to the public. 

3MT Finalists: 

  • Michael Craig, Engineering and Public Policy, College of Engineering
  • Pallavi Baljekar, Langauge Technologies Institute, School of Computer Science
  • Jesse Thornburg, Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Ania Jaroszewicz, Social and Design Sciences, Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Will Penman, English, Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Jooli Han, Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Sudipto Mandal, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Diane Nelson, Biomedical Engineering
  • Emily Simon, Biological Sciences
  • Surya Aggarwal, Biological Sciences


Ramayya Krishnan, Dean, H. John Heinz III College
Anne Molloy, Trustee, Carnegie Mellon University and Executive Director, Posner Fine Arts Foundation
Suzie Laurich-McIntyre, Assistant Vice Provost for Graduate Education 
Nancy Merritt, Assistant Vice President for Alumni Relations
Juliann Reineke, PhD Student, English and 2nd Place Winner, 2016 3MT


1st place prize: $3,000
2nd Place Prize: $2,000
3rd Place Prize: $1,000
People’s Choice Award (audience vote): $500
Alumni Choice Award (alumni vote): $500

Learn more about the Three Minute Thesis Competition, and watch the championship rounds of previous years. 

News category: Events