First place winner, Diane Nelson
2017 Three Minute Thesis Championship competitors and judges

Ten Ph.D. students representing four CMU schools and colleges competed in McConomy Auditorium for the 2017 Three Minute Thesis Championship. For the first time, the competition was streamed live online, where alumni viewers had the chance to vote for the new Alumni Award. Thanks to all of the competitors and judges and congratulations to the winners!
Watch the 2017 finalists 

  • 1st Place Winner: Diane Nelson, Biomedical Engineering – “Drug Delivery to the Lungs using Perfluorocarbon Emulsions”
  • 2nd Place Winner & People’s Choice Award: Surya Aggarwal, Biological Sciences – “Intercepting Bacterial Communication to Limit Antibiotic Resistance”
  • 3rd Place Winner: Ania Jaroszewicz, Social & Decision Science – “How the Psychology of Poverty Affects Behavior and Financial Outcomes”
  • Alumni Choice Award: Sudipto Mandal, Materials Science & Engineering – “Improving performance of aerospace materials using Integrated Computational Materials Engineering (ICME).”

3MT 2017 Finalists: 

Michael Craig, Engineering and Public Policy, College of Engineering

Pallavi Baljekar, Language Technologies Institute, School of Computer Science

Jesse Thornburg, Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering

Ania Jaroszewicz, Social and Design Sciences, Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Will Penman, English, Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Jooli Han, Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering

Sudipto Mandal, Materials Science and Engineering

Diane Nelson, Biomedical Engineering

Emily Simon, Biological Sciences

Surya Aggarwal, Biological Sciences


Read the CMU home page story about the 2017 Three Minute Thesis competition.