President Subra Suresh with 1st Place and People’s Choice Award Winner Pratiti Mandal
President Subra Suresh and University Libraries Dean Keith Webster with all 2016 3MT@CMU finalists

Congratulations to Pratiti Mandal (1st place and People's Choice), Juliann Reineke and Shinjini Kundu (2nd place tie), and Amit Datta (3rd place), as well as the rest of our 2016 3MT Championship students. Ten students competed in this year's Finals. Who would have gotten your vote? Watch all of our 2016 finalists 

Finalists who participated in the 2016 Championship:

Shinjini Kundu, Biomedical Engineering: Predicting future osteoarthritis using MRI: the untold story of cartilage
Vinitha Ganesan, Biological Sciences: A New method to help the discovery of diagnostic biomarkers for autoimmune diseases
Juliann Reineke, English: Three sheets to the wind: the Jolly Jack Tar and British Masculinity in the 18th Century
Blue Martin, Biomedical Engineering: Development and modeling of multi-scale continuous high gradient magnetophoretic separator for malaria-infected red blood cells
Jonathan Kush, Tepper School of Business: Ties than bind and ties that tear: the influence of network centralization and density on shared social identity and performance
Giuseppe Vinci, Statistics: High dimensional graphical models for neural connectivities
Daniel Shiwarski, Biological Sciences: Unlocking the DOR to the surface: Regulated surface delivery of the delta-Opioid receptor
Amy Stetten, Physics: Inducing surface flows at fluid interfaces through aerosolization of lipid dispersions
Pratiti Mandal, Mechanical Engineering: Investigation and mitigation of degradation of fuel cells
Amit Datta, Electrical and Computer Engineering: Discovering personal data use on the web

Check out the CMU home page story on the 2016 Three Minute Thesis Competition.