Carnegie Mellon Libraries: Databases for Animal Alternatives and Welfare

 

Databases for Animal Alternatives and Welfare

This guide identifies databases relevant to animal testing alternatives and related areas. For additional assistance with specific searches, please contact the Science Libraries (x82427) or send an email to sciref@andrew.cmu.edu.

When you find a citation for an article, check the library catalog (Cameo) to see if Carnegie Mellon owns that journal or conference proceedings. If Carnegie Mellon does not own the item, you can use interlibrary loan to have the materials sent to you.


MEDLINE

National Library of Medicine's premier database covering biomedical literature, related life sciences and research. Coverage: 1966 - present. Available via OCLC FirstSearch or PubMed.

ABI/INFORM Global

Indexes articles on health care industry, management, policy; some full text. Coverage: 1970 - present.

Access Science

Web version of the McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Provides access to articles, dictionary terms, and hundreds of research updates in all areas of science and technology.

Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)

Medically-oriented coverage in bacteriology with topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, with access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics. Also valuable to medical and veterinary laboratory staff, cell biologists, geneticists, toxicologists, and many others. Coverage: 1982 - present.

BasicBIOSIS

Provides information on a wide range of biology and biomedical topics including biotechnology, botany, genetics, microbiology, neuroscience and public health and more. Citations are from 350 core life science journals indexed in Biological Abstracts. Coverage: 1994 - present.

Health and Safety Science Abstracts

Provides a comprehensive survey of work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help individuals identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations. Coverage: 1981 - present.

LexisNexis Academic

Features full-text access to business, legal and general medical/health information. Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals. Coverage: 1966 - present.

LexisNexis Congressional

Features full-text access to federal legislative and regulatory information, including Congressional publications, laws, bills, and regulations.

LexisNexis Statistical

Provides statistics from federal and state government sources, private organizations and international intergovernmental agencies and organizations. Coverage: varies.

PsycINFO

Covers psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Coverage: 1887 - present.

Science.gov

A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results. Search "laboratory animal welfare" and see what kinds of results you find.

Toxicology Abstracts

Surveys the literature for toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and myriad other substances, each issue publishes information concerning the in vivo effects of toxic substances. Coverage: 1981 - present.

TOXLINE

Covers all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts. Coverage: rolling 5-year window, covering the last 5 years plus the current year.

Web of Science

Includes Science Citation Index Expanded and other databases, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,800 journals in 164 scientific disciplines. Includes cited references and cited references to patents. Coverage: 1945 - present.


  Contact Us | Site Map | Comments

  March 18, 2008 -- http://www.library.cmu.edu/Research/LabSupport/databases.html
  Diane Covington, Chemistry and Biology Librarian, Mellon Institute Library, dianec@andrew.cmu.edu
  © 2008 Carnegie Mellon Libraries