|
|||||||||||||||||
Below are some resources most commonly used for historical research. To see a complete list of the electronic resources available at Carnegie Mellon go to Databases by Name, A-Z or Databases by Subject. The Subjects in History categories also provide more specialized resources. If you need help in selecting or using a database or index for your research, or if you're having difficulty finding the information you need, ask at the Hunt Library reference desk.
Databases and Indexes:Back to topArchival Resources
These databases can identify which archive has original manuscript material relevant to your topic. Unless the material has been duplicated in some way (digitized, microformed, etc.), plan on visiting the repository to get access to the material. If you need help determining if something has been digitized or microformed, please ask at the Hunt Library reference desk.
- ARC: Archival Research Catalog (NARA)
Online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries.
- Archives USA (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Records, complete with detailed indexes, for about 109,000 manuscript and other special collections.
- HELIOS
H. John Heinz III U.S. Senate Papers, 1977-91; U.S. House Papers, 1971-76, updated irregularly.
Full text electronic access to major portions of the congressional papers of the late Senator H. John Heinz III of Pennsylvania.
- Historic Pittsburgh Finding Aids (University Library System, University of Pittsburgh and the Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania)
Search finding aids of the Archives Service Center, Special Collections, the Darlington Memorial Library of the University Library System, and the Library and Archives of the Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania. Finding aids provide detailed information about the history and significance, types of materials, and use and availability of archival collections. This is an ongoing project, with new finding aids added monthly.
- Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania
A non-circulating collection of books, newspapers, manuscripts, and maps documenting life in Western Pennsylvania. Archival materials include personal and family papers, associations' records, and records of business and industry.
- National Archives: Public Records Office
Links to online catalog, datasets, and other archival resources and databases for England, Wales and the United Kingdom.
- Worldcat (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1200-present (updated daily).
Citations to books, titles of journals, manuscripts, and other materials in libraries throughout the United States, as well as some international libraries. Each record will let you know which institutions have that item. Under Limit type to mark the box for Archival Materials. A free (accessible to all) version of OCLC for searching for archival material and manuscripts is available at NUCMC: National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
Databases and Indexes:Back to topBook Reviews
If full text links for journal articles are not provided, click onto see retrieval options. This is only for journal article citations, and may not be available in all databases. Otherwise, Use Cameo to see if materials are in the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries. If they aren't, you can use the Interlibrary Loan options to either borrow or obtain a photocopy of the material.
- America: History and Life (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1954-present (updated monthly).
Citations and some abstracts to journal articles, dissertations, and book and media reviews on United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers all historical topics and a variety of disciplines including popular culture, gender studies, anthropology, literature, and folklore, etc.
- Book Review Index (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1965-present (updated annually).
Citations to book reviews in scholarly journals.
- Farber, Evan Ira, et al., eds. Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974. 15 vols. Arlington, Va.: Carrollton Press, 1979-1982.
DUQUESNE UNIVERSITY, GUMBERG LIBRARY, REFERENCE STACKS-4TH FLOOR Z1035.A1 C64
- JSTOR (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: ca. 1890-2000 (dates vary by journal title).
Search backfiles of journals by all titles, by subject category,(e. g. History), by individual title or by a combination. To search for book reviews, in Search JSTOR-Advanced Search, under Narrow your search to: These types:, mark reviews. Type in the author's name and/or key words from the title (note: not all reviews will have the title of the reviewed book as the title of the article). Mark the category(ies) of journals you want searched and/or expand them and select particular journal titles. Instructions for downloading and installing the print helper are displayed when you click "Print Article" in JSTOR. A laser printer is required for printing.
- Project Muse (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: ca. 1998-present (dates vary by journal title)
Search the full text of the more current issues of journals in all subject area. To find book reviews, in the Basic Search, select Author Reviewed or Title Reviewed.
- Web of Science (Carnegie Mellon users only)
ca. 1945-present.
Once in Web of Science, select Full Search, select citation databases to be searched, the select Cited Ref Search. The author of the reviewed book will be cited in the review. Complete the Cited Reference Lookup form and click on Lookup. After selecting from the results, set language and document type limits and click Search. Book Review is a document type limit. Since this database has a limited number of users at one time, please remember to log out.
Databases and Indexes:Back to topDissertations
Once you've identified the materials you need, use Cameo to see if they are in the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries. If they aren't, you can use Interlibrary Loan to either borrow or obtain a photocopy of the material.
- America: History and Life (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1954-present (updated monthly).
Citations and some abstracts to journal articles, dissertations, and book and media reviews on United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers all historical topics and a variety of disciplines including popular culture, gender studies, anthropology, literature and folklore, etc.
- Directory of Dissertations in Progress (American Historical Association)
Current (updated annually).
Search the dissertations in progress at the 165 academic departments listed in the Directory of History Departments and Organizations in the United States and Canada by author, school, or keywords in title.
- Dissertation Abstracts Online (Carnegie Mellon uses only)
1861-present (updated monthly).
Citations and abstracts(from 1980 on) to theses and dissertations accepted at accredited institutions in a full range of subjects.
This database producer also offers:
Digital Dissertations
Current and previous year only.
May have pdf previews of the dissertation to read.
- Historical Abstracts (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1954-present (updated monthly).
Citations and some abstracts of journal articles, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It covers all historical topics and a variety of disciplines including religion, gender studies, anthropology, political science, etc.
Databases and Indexes:Government Documents
The following indexes can help you identify any relevant government documents for your research. Carnegie Mellon has a small paper collection of United States government documents, and a much larger microfiche collection (from 1978-present). Both are in the Hunt Library reference room. Hillman Library at the University of Pittsburgh and the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh have large collections of federal government documents as well. Most government documents, however, will not show up in the library catalogs for these libraries. Some of the resources listed in History and Policy: Government Resources may be of interest, too. If you need help using these resources, or in locating government documents, ask at the Hunt Library reference desk.
- Ames, John G. Comprehensive Index of the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-93. New York: Johnson Reprint Corp., 1962.
HUNT REF-1 Z1223 .A13
- Checklist of United States Public Documents 1789--1909, Congressional: to Close of Sixtieth Congress; Departmental: to End of Calender Year 1909. Washington, Govt. Print. Off., 1911. New York: Reprinted by Kraus Reprint Corporation, 1962-
HUNT REF-1 Z1223 .A113 1962
Will give the serial set volumes for documents found in Poore's.
- Catalogue of the Public Documents of the ...Congress and of All Departments of the Government of the United States...
Print: 1893-1940.
HUNT REF-1 INDEX
Shelved under Monthly Catalog
- LexisNexis Congressional (Carnegie Mellon users only)
ca. 1789-present (updates vary).
Indexing and abstracting of congressional reports, documents, prints, bills, testimony, legislative histories, regulations, etc. The Historical Indexes portion covers 1789-1980, while other portions, such as the CIS Index cover 1970-present. Some of the publications will be available in full text, and those that are not may be available in paper or on microfiche in the Hunt Library reference room. You can also search the Congressional Record (1985-present), the Federal Register (1980-present), the United States Code, Statutes at Large (1789-present), as well as see campaign financial data (1989-present), committee schedules, voting records (1988-present), etc. See the Content Chart in the Help section of the Site Map for additional coverage details. Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh has the Congressional Hearings, 1824 - 1979 (full text) as part of its Lexis Nexis Congressional Papers & United States Serial Set. No remote access is provided, so you must go to the library to use it.
- LexisNexis Statistical (Carnegie Mellon users only)
ca. 1973-present.
Search citations and abstracts to statistical publications from federal, state, international sources as well as private organizations. See LexisNexis Statistical for an indepth description of coverage.
- Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications.
Print: 1918-1975.
HUNT REF-1 INDEX
Online: 1976-present (updated monthly).
Available: GPO Monthly Catalog (Carnegie Mellon users only)
- Patent and Government Document Indices
ca. 1778-1897.
Available: 19th Century Masterfile (Carnegie Mellon users only)
- Poore, Benjamin P. Descriptive Catalog of the Government Publications of the United States 1774-1881 2 vols. New York: Johnson Reprint Corp., 1962.
Print: HUNT REF-1 Z1223 .A1885C
Available: 19th Century Masterfile (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Database will give page number where full citation can be found in the print Poore's, the use the Checklist to find the serial set volume.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Full text: 1878-present.
A compendium of statistics on all subjects gathered by the federal government.
- United States Serial Set (American Memory, Library of Congress)
Digitized portions of the U. S. Serial Set that can be searched or browsed. The Serial Set, 1817- contains "House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate." Documents earlier than 1817 may be found in American State Papers. For documents that are not in the digitized version, visit the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh or Hillman Library, the University of Pittsburgh. The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh has the Serial Set online as part of its Lexis Nexis Congressional Papers & United States Serial Set subscription. No remote access is provided, so you must go to the library to use it.
Databases and Indexes:Back to topJournal and Magazine Articles and Books
If full text links for journal articles are not provided, click onto see retrieval options. This is only for journal article citations, and may not be available in all databases. Otherwise, use Cameo to see if materials are in the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries. If they aren't, you can use the Interlibrary Loan options to either borrow or obtain a photocopy of the material.
- America: History and Life (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1954-present (updated monthly).
Citations and some abstracts to journal articles, dissertations, and book and media reviews on United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers all historical topics, including foreign policy, and a variety of disciplines including popular culture, gender studies, anthropology, literature and folklore, etc. Also has a non-US history counterpart Historical Abstracts.To search both, once connected, click on Choose Databases and select both databases.
- Anthropological Index Online
ca. 1960-present.
Citations to journal articles in all areas of anthropology from the over 750 journals received at the British Museum Department of Ethnography (Museum of Mankind).
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1975-present (updated weekly).
- Early English Books Online (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: 1475-1700.
Search and display over 95,000 titles published between 1475 and 1700. Eventually about 125,000 titles will be in the database, with new titles being added each year.
- 18th Century Collections Online (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1700-1801
Search or browse the full text of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas during this period. Materials include books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons, and printed ephemera, with works by many well-known and lesser-known authors. Subject areas include history geography, social sicences, fine arts, medicine, science, technology, law, general reference, literature and language. A work in progress, the database will contain 138,000 titlesand editions when completed in about 2010.
- Electronic Collections Online (ECO) (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: 1995 to present (updated daily).
Search by topic or browse individual journal titles in many disciplines from many publishers. You can also display the tables of contents of any journal, but if the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries subscribe to a journal, you can retrieve the full text.
- HarpWeek (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: 1857-1912.
Contains all the pages of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912 as scanned images. Users can browse by date or literary genre. Searches can be done by occupation or role in society, or by searching any combination of four indexes: subject; illustrations; literature and publishing; advertising. Since the scanned images in HarpWeek (11 x 15.5") are too large to print full size on 8.5 x 11" paper, please see Printing from HarpWeek for printing and downloading information.
- Historical Abstracts (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1954-present (Updated monthly).
Citations and some abstracts of journal articles, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). It covers all historical topics, including foreign policy, and a variety of disciplines including religion, gender studies, anthropology, political science, etc. Also has a U. S. and and Canadian history counterpart, America: History and Life. Search both America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
- Industrial Arts Index
Print: 1914-1957.
HUNT REF-1 INDEX
continued by:
- Business Periodicals Index
Print: 1958-1996.
HUNT REF-1 INDEX- Applied Science and Technology Index (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Online: 1983-present.
Print: 1958-1992.
HUNT REF-1 INDEX
- Iter (Carnegie Mellon users only)
ca. 1900-present (updated daily).
Citations to journal articles from over 500 journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700).
- JSTOR (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: Dates vary by title, with no coverage for current 2-5 years.
Search full text backfiles of major scholarly journals by all titles, by subject category,(e. g. History), by individual title or by a combination. You can also specify the type of material you are looking for, e. g. articles, reviews, etc. Instructions for downloading and installing the print helper are displayed when you click "Print Article" in JSTOR. A laser printer is required for printing.
- Making of America.
A collaborative effort between the University of Michigan and Cornell University to use digital technology to preserve primary sources, and to make them accessible. The collections are especially strong the areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
- Making of America (Cornell University Library)
Browse or search journals and books from the antebellum period through reconstruction.- Making of America. (University of Michigan)
Browse or search books and journals materials from the antebellum period through reconstruction, 1850-1877.
- Making of the Modern World (Carnegie Mellon users only)
ca. 1460-1850
A comprehensive digital collection for the study of early economic, political, business, and social history, and for researching the literature of economics from this period. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections: the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration, along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University. The end result is a database that allows many ways to search, including full text, the more than 12 million pages from 61,000 books from the period 1460-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials.
- netLibrary (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Browse, search or "borrow" full text eBooks online. Before you can borrow and read a title online, you'll need to create a personal account.
- 19th Century Masterfile (Carnegie Mellon users only)
ca. 1800-1900s.
Formerly called Poole's Plus. Search a variety of indices to find citations for nineteenth and early twentieth century periodicals and books:Series I: Poole's and other Multi-Title Periodical Indices
Series II: Book Indices
Series IV:Individual Title Indices with links to full text
- Population Index
Print: 1937, v.3-present (updated quarterly).
Latest 5 years in HUNT REF INDEX; earlier with journals on HUNT BND-JOUR-3.
Annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers and other materials on population topics.
Online: 1986-present.
Available: Population Index on the Web
Searchable and browseable database containing 42,662 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index.
- Project Muse (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: ca. 1995-present (dates vary by title).
Search or browse full text scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Beginning in 2000 Project Muse will expand to include full-text online access to titles from at least 9 other university presses, including Carnegie Mellon University Press.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1890-1982.
Online versions of the print index Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. These databases contain citations to popular magazine and journal articles in all subject areas, including current events, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health, nutrition and consumer affairs.
- Science Citation Index via Web of Science (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1945-present (updated weekly).
- Social Sciences Citation Index. via Web of Science (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1956-present (updated weekly).
- Web of Science (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1945-present (updated weekly).
Electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can search for topics, citation references, author's affiliation, etc.
- Wile, Annadel N., et al., eds. C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974. 11 vols. Washington: Carrollton Press, 1977-1978.
UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, HILLMAN LIBRARY REFERENCE (GROUND FLOOR) q Z6205 .C18
DUQUESNE UNIVERSITY, GUMBERG LIBRARY REFERENCE STACKS-4TH FLOOR Z6205 .C18
- Worldcat (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1200-present (Updated daily).
Citations to books, titles of journals, manuscripts, and other materials in libraries throughout the United States, as well as some international libraries. You can limit your search to books by by selecting Book in the Type option. Each record will let you know which libraries have that item. Use Interlibrary Loan for materials not in the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries.
Databases and Indexes:Back to topLibrary Catalogs
If you need materials that are not in the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries, you can use the Interlibrary Loan options.
- Cameo
Catalog of the materials in the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries, including books, dissertations, journals, magazines, newspapers, and videos.
- Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Catalog
Catalog of Pittsburgh's public libraries, which are a rich repository of resources. Not all of the items in the libraries will be in the online catalog. For a comprehensive idea of the holdings, you may still have to look at card catalogs and card files. These libraries, especially the main branch in Oakland, are a particularly valuable resource for anyone interested in the history of Pittsburgh, for they have many historical Pittsburgh newspapers and journals, as well as census materials and older reference works. Carnegie Mellon faculty, staff, and students can borrow materials by getting a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh library card at the Main Library lending desk. Library Cards are free to residents of Allegheny County (bring proof of address), as well as out-of-town college students residing in the county (bring your Carnegie Mellon ID card and proof of local address).
- CRL Catalog (Center for Research Libraries)
The CRL Catalog contains more than 350,000 records for books, newspapers, serials, archival sets in microform, and other research materials collected at the Center for Research Libraries in Chicago. The Center exists to lend these materials to member institutions. Since Carnegie Mellon is a member, you can borrow these materials via Interlibrary Loan.
- Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania
A non-circulating collection of books, newspapers, manuscripts, and maps documenting life in Western Pennsylvania. Archival materials include personal and family papers, associations' records, and records of business and industry.
- The Library of Congress
- Special Collections in the Library of Congress: A Selective guide Library of Congress Manuscript Division
- Other Library of Congress Resources Menu
- Pittcat (University of Pittsburgh Libraries)
Catalog of the University of Pittsburgh Library System, including all branch campus libraries. Carnegie Mellon faculty, staff, and students can borrow materials by getting a Special Borrower's card at the Hillman Library circulation desk with their Carnegie Mellon ID cards and proof of current Carnegie Mellon affiliation. See University of Pittsburgh Library System Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement for details.
- Worldcat (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1200-present (updated daily).
Records of books, titles of journals, manuscripts, and other materials in libraries throughout the United States, as well as some international libraries. Each record will let you know which libraries have that item.
Databases and Indexes:HistoryNewspapers
- African American Newspapers: the 19th Century (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: ca. 1820-1870s.
Major 19th century African-American newspapers published in the United States. An ongoing project, new text is added to the database each month. Newspapers included are:
- Freedom's Journal (New York, NY) 1827-1829.
- Colored American (Weekly Advocate) (New York, NY) 1837-1841.
- North Star (Rochester, New York) 1847-1851.
- National Era (Washington, D. C.) 1847-1960 (complete through 1853).
- Provincial Freeman (Chatham, Canada West) 1854-1857.
- Frederick Douglass Paper (Rochester, N. Y.) 1851-1859 (complete through 1852).
- Christian Recorder (Philadelphia, Pa.) 1861-1902 (complete through April, 1862).
- Historical New York Times Project (Universal Library, Carnegie Mellon University)
Digitized images of the New York Times. An ongoing project, Chapter 2: The Civil War Years, 1860-1866 is available.
- LexisNexis Academic (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: ca. 1990s-present. Use the News section to search newspapers from the United States or different regions of the world. Exact date coverage of newspapers will vary, but most only go back to the 1990s.
- New York Times via ProQuest Direct (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: June, 1, 1980-present.
Historical New York Times (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: 1851-ca. 2003.
The text of the New York Times is also available on microfilm from 1851-present (the paper is kept until the microfilm arrives) on HUNT MFILM-3. Paper indexes are available in Hunt Reference.
- Newspaper Indices via 19th Century Masterfile (Carnegie Mellon users only)
ca. 1875-1906.
- Proquest (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: ca. 1990s-present. Use Databases Selected to search only newspapers or a particular newspaper. Exact date coverage of newspapers will vary, but most only go back to the 1990s, with some going back to the 1980s.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full text: 1785-1985.
Search and display the full text of the Times (London).
- Wall Street Journal via ProQuest Direct (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full Text: 1984-present (updated daily).
Historical Wall Street Journal (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Full Text: 1890-1989.
Search and display the full text.
|
Contact Us | Site Map | Comments
March 4, 2008 -- http://www.library.cmu.edu/Research/Humanities/History/databases.html
|